Skip to content

#002; weather in limbo and a beautiful flick

May 13, 2009
So much of what we know of love we learn at home.
Photo from the Bostonist.

Two quick bits for you this morning – I am very ready for this weather to be done with. The DCist got it right when it called it ‘weather limbo’ and while it’s matching my mood quite well these days, I’d rather sunshine and buttercups kick my butt back into a good mood. I want to pull out little skirts and cute cotton shirts again!

Second – saw ‘Two Lovers‘ this weekend (also saw ‘Watchmen’ for a second time, but that’s a story for another day). Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful movie about falling in love with all the wrong people – married, addicted, bipolar, perfect – with a distinctly German-cinema feel to it (German and Chinese being my favorites for the same reasons; they’re so quiet, it’s breathtaking). The entire cast was wonderful (which surprised me considering my historic dislike of Gwenyth Paltrow) and it made me mourn for Joaquin Phoenix’s acting career – why did he have to turn so deeply insane?

Otherwise, this weekend saw lots of sleep on my behalf (am currently losing a battle with bronchitis) and the St. Paddy’s Day parade hit South Boston. I wish more than anything that I could have been there. Floating around in Purgatory is only a nice vacation if you can ignore what you’re missing, after all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

