Skip to content

#35; can’t miss shows [this weekend edition]

September 10, 2009

Well, we all know that tonight is Fashions Night Out in DC (taking over U St in an epic battle of economy vs really cute shoes) complete with after parties, but if this were a fashion blog, there’d be prettier pictures. And so, I’m here to highlight the must see shows of this weekend; you know, for when you want to throw on some chucks and give your feet a rest from all those stilettos you bought at Fashion Night Out.

Tonight! @ M & 2nd St. SE (future home of Canal Park, Navy Yard Metro)Star Wars is showing; seriously, it’s STAR WARS. Had to include.

@ Rock & Roll Hotel – AA Bondy, the brother-in-law of NY State-based Felice Brothers, comes to the Rock & Roll Hotel (H St. Corridor) and I truly wish I had the $10 to see him because he not only puts on a great show (I’ve seen him open for the Felices more than once) but it’s been ages since he’s been in DC. If you can only make it to one show tonight and like rock with a folksy, southern, hard edge – go to the Rock & Roll Hotel tonight.

Friday Night! @ 9:30 Club (U St. Metro) – THE SHOW I AM DESPERATE TO SEE BUT AM MOST LIKELY NOT GOING TO BE ABLE TO (this is a ringing endorsement, people!) – Sondre Lerche, guitarist and lady-swoon-inducing singer from Norway (now based out of Brooklyn, of course) comes to DC two days after his new cd’s released (this past Tuesday) and I cannot say enough good things about his music. I don’t think I’ll ever get enough of his work with the Faces Down Quartet on a disc called The Druper Sessions – this is singing/songwriting at my absolute favorite. His voice is beautiful without being sickly-sweet and his lyrics hit just the right spot without wandering into John Mayer hair-in-my-eyes-and-a-model-on-my-arm-but-I’m-still-emo territory (though I love John Mayer). CHECK OUT THIS SHOW. Or, at the very least, his music. Go! Why are you still on my blog?!

…I am not even recommending other things to do on Friday, because we all clearly know where every one of you will be!

Sondre Lerche @ 9:30 Club Friday, doors @ 6pm

Sondre Lerche @ 9:30 Club Friday, doors @ 6pm


Saturday!
@ 9:30 Club (U St. Metro) – The Perez Hilton Tour (with Ladyhawke and Ida Maria) should be a good time and with early doors (open at 8pm) at 9:30 Club, the crowds’ll probably be way enthusiastic.

@ IOTA in Arlington, VAHonor By August is coming back to IOTA for three shows in two days; they put on a great show with Idea Track and Alex Parez last month and can be pretty much guaranteed to the do the same with shows Saturday night, Sunday afternoon (an acoustic set), and Sunday night. The Sunday matinée is all ages, too!

Sunday! Check out God’s Pottery, a musical comedy, at DC9 on 9th and U NW. Doors are at 7, the show starts at 8, and it’s 18+ (which seems a rarity at DC9, one of my favorite small venues on the entire East coast). Jeremiah and Gideon have rave reviews from their native Midwest to the UK, and they don’t seem to come to DC very often so this is a one chance only sort of gig! I’m hoping to bring a friend who’s visiting from Houston to check this one out!

Any thing I missed? Shows you’re raving about or artists who’re hitting other venues in DC besides the ones I normally cover? Leave a comment, send an email, hit me up on twitter – get in touch, because that’s really the best part of the DC music scene: the wingnuts I get to meet and greet every day, of course!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 4:09 PM

    Oh sure, good stuff indeed. And then when the weekend is over and you still need MORE music, come to Solly’s Monday night at 7:30 p.m. for my lil’ Johnny Cash tribute set 🙂 Also on the bill will be Derek Evry of Idea Track, Knock Off Johnson and TBA.

    • atlimbo permalink
      September 10, 2009 4:13 PM

      Absolutely! Does that show have/will it have a flier? I’ll post it if you get it to me. Love seeing you play Cash and can’t wait to see Derek and KOJ play again!

  2. September 10, 2009 5:57 PM

    A flyer? What kind of organization do you think this is? Oh wait… yes, we have the technology 🙂

    Can’t wait for the show Monday! Knock Off Johnson vs the Red Robot! Ok, I mean “with,” but vs just sounds more badass.

    • atlimbo permalink
      September 10, 2009 6:05 PM

      I like the ‘vs’ – you’re right, more badass. Does this mean that I should just start a weekly shows to see feature, too? Instead of just weekends? Oy, you’re all gonna be the death of me with the million awesome things to do every night!

  3. September 10, 2009 6:40 PM

    Word, it does now 🙂 Just whipped one up, will send it to you in a minute…my first stab at doin’ my own poster, usually Karen or my older brother Adam do them for me…

  4. September 10, 2009 6:41 PM

    we all are going to be the death of you with a million awesome things to do every night 😉

    • atlimbo permalink
      September 10, 2009 6:45 PM

      And you take pride in the fact! Looking forward to the poster.

Leave a Reply

